Ok. So I managed to get this tumbleblog set up. Tumblr fought me every step of the way.

Did you know you can only have one tumbleblog? Yep. You wouldn’t be able to tell it from the way that tumblr proudly displays a “create a new tumbleblog” right on your dashboard, though. But if you try to do it, it will create something subtly different from the first tumbleblog (i.e., “your” tumbleblog).

This is where I would ordinarily tell you to try it and see, but that would be irresponsible of me because tumblr will NOT ALLOW YOU TO DELETE IT once you create it. If you wanted to do that, you’d have to DELETE YOUR ENTIRE ACCOUNT.

But, if you were foolish enough to create a new one, you’d find that your new tumbleblog has a “Members” section that the original does not have. See, you can only create group tumbleblogs from here on out. Now you can make a group one and set yourself up as the only member, but the first one you created is still going to be “yours”.

This has some implications, especially if you were hoping to archive an old one and start using a new one. “Yours” (the old one) will always be the default. So every time you make a post, you will have to select the new one. This is especially insidious on the iPhone app because changing where something gets posted requires multiple taps.

If you really want to have a new tumbleblog be “yours”, you have to delete your account. And since tumblr supports no import or export abilities, the old one is just going to go bye-bye. Which is what I just did. Fortunately, I didn’t have a whole lot invested in the old one. But I’m still a bit miffed.

It’s a pity that the multiple tumbleblogs feature is so half-baked because it could be really useful. As it is, though, it’s a trap and possibly even some irresponsible UI.

And no, the irony of my posting this in a tumbleblog isn’t lost on me. But I also remember what I had to give up (a couple years worth of posts) to make this tumbleblog “mine”.

(Also, now that I’ve created a new account, the dashboard is showing me posts from people I don’t care about. I don’t know how to make it stop. My old account didn’t do that. *sigh*)

Comments are currently closed for this post.